Green on grey days

When typing the title for this post I was suddenly uncertain of the spelling for ‘grey’… turns out both ‘gray’ and ‘grey’ are used (if you like to read about it: here is an interesting wiki article)

It has been little to no sunshine around here in January, so I needed a little bit of color.
Enjoy and let me know what you think of these twigs and leaves. These are some sort of samples – trying out different shades of my watercolor palette. These serve also well to try different leaf shapes…

201501_greenery_wip1

201501_greenery_wip2

If you’re interested to know what materials I used, here you go:

 Canson Montval Watercolor 140 lb Cold-Pressed Blocks – 9″x12″ – 15 Sheets

Reeves 10ml Watercolor Paint, Assorted Color
Schmincke Watercolor Set – 12 5mL Tubes in a Metal Box
Talens Van Gogh Watercolor, 10ml, 10 Tube Set
(I don’t own the whole sets of Schmincke and van Gogh paints, I bought single colors.)

Thank you for stopping by!

Kindly,
Jana

8 comments

  1. boogmartin · · Reply

    I love you greens. It looks like a bit of spring sitting on you page. We have had a lot of gray days too

    1. Thanks, Boo. Yes, I know thousand shades of gray now… though I shouldn’t complain – we do have nice snow here too 🙂

  2. I always spell grey with an E! 🙂

    Beautiful paintings, as usual!

    1. Interesting with the spelling, isn’t it? This totally helps me out as I’m getting confused with all the language spoken at our house now 😉
      Thanks for stopping by, dearest ❤

  3. Funny, I was just thinking about the spelling of gray the other day when writing in my journal. Seems like we have been having way too much of it – however you spell it. I like your cheery green watercolored leaves and your style is beautiful! 🙂

    1. Funny indeed! 🙂 Thanks for your kind comment ❤

  4. i love your paintings! those leaves have a life of their own 🙂

    1. Thanks, Patty! 🙂

Leave a Reply

