Typography a little different – woyww

Here is a glimpse of what I was doing a week before Easter: It’s not really on my desk currently the way it shows here. Now I’m working on the pictures on my laptop (those in progress pictures are more interesting, don’t you think?! :))

201404_Sprogress

It was very tricky to finish this project: I only could take pictures if the sun was shining (so it would be enough natural light inside – no way I could do this outside, the wind would have messed up the arrangements for sure). We had a few days of rain after I was done with about a third of the letters. Also, those sweet flowers (scilla siberica – they bloom abundantly in our yard here in Sweden) wouldn’t bloom forever. I was getting nervous if everything would come together again so I would be able to continue to take pictures. Well, apparently i was lucky enough… some letters were easy to lay out, some where quite challenging.

I plan to post the whole alphabet once I’m done preparing the files.

Besides birds, I do love typography and plants. And I love books… so I tend to browse online and dream of adding books to our library šŸ™‚
Here are few I’d love to own:

Botanical Drawing in Color: A Basic Guide to Mastering Realistic Form and Naturalistic Color

Botanical Illustration Course: With the Eden Project

The Golden Age of Botanical Art

Latin for Gardeners: Over 3,000 Plant Names Explained and Explored

A Primer of Botanical Latin with Vocabulary

 

I’m linking this to woyww on Julia’s blog. Go check it out, it’s fun to see desks around the world šŸ™‚

Thanks for stopping by!
Cheers,

Jana

11 comments

  1. That all looks like great fun, Jana – enjoy playing! Chris # 19 x

  2. Sharon Madson · · Reply

    Someone later than me!! šŸ™‚ What you are doing looks difficult, but it is very pretty. #92

  3. Happy WOYWW Sorry to peek in and dash… .Neat way to do lettering!!
    hugs, Kimmer #96

    1. Thanks, Kim! šŸ™‚

  4. Very cool, Jana. Great idea

    1. Thanks, Boo! šŸ™‚

  5. That looks marvellous, Jana – so delicate! Thanks for your lovely comment on my blog and I’m just off to explore the link you sent me. I’m really busy at the moment working on other things but can’t wait to get my new sewing machine going, and to return to my teabags!

    Happy belated WOYWW,
    Shoshi #43

  6. They are such pretty flowers, the alphabet will look beautiful with them. I’m a huge bird lover too. Apart from my pet parrot, Charlie (long billed Corella) we have loads of wild Lorikeets that visit each day, plus Kookaburras, Magpies and heaps of Ibis too. I love to paint birds, especially bright ones.
    Have a great week.
    Von #13

  7. Oh Wow!! How gorgeous is that alphabet going to be. I’d love to know how you use them.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog too. :))
    Cathy #73 WOYWW

  8. They are very pretty flowers! I like the way your S is heading there. Gah! Its taken me so long to get around this week #coulddobetter! #32

    1. Thanks o much, Lisa šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

