A different view of birds

If you’re into art journaling, I’m sure you visited ‘daisy yellow’ before. Tammy invited me to write a guest post for her DPP (daily paper prompt) series. Well, today is the day – I’m really honored, Tammy – Thanks again!

Just hop on over if you haven’t been there today. I wrote about ‘negative painting’ and to complete my guest post, I added another of my journal pages using this technique here:

bird sketch in pencil, then outlined with a pitt pen
acrylics on mixed media paper
(applied with different brushes, recycled plastic packaging,
hand carved stamps & found objects – like a piece of shoe sole;))

201308_blue_bird_page1 copy

added journaling
(I used grey and black Faber-Castell Pitt Pens
and colored pencils)

201308_blue_bird_page2

Give it a try – it’s an really interesting technique (at least I think so).

As always, thank you for stopping by!

Cheers,

Jana

8 comments

  1. Very Cool, Jana. Great Idea…. I’ll have to give it a try.

    1. Thanks, Boo! If you do, please share the result! 🙂

  2. Love both pages a lot – you have a very cool handwriting!

    1. Thanks, Hanna! 🙂 …currently I’m trying to practice the old fashioned way to write – with ink and nib – should also go onto a journal page one day

  3. It’s beautiful! Funny you should mention the shoe sole. A piece of mine fell off my garden sneakers earlier today. I might just go fish it out of the trash!

    1. That’s funny indeed 🙂 …I hope you got it out of the trash in time! Can’t wait to see what mark it’ll leave in your art projects 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by!

  4. I only started with DPPs and yours was the first one! Although my technique is a little different. But still, it is the negative space that counts, right? I love your birds so much, that one day, I might give it a try. 🙂

    1. Definitively – that counts, Gabriele 🙂 I love it – you used my favorite colors – blue & orange…

Leave a Reply

