Origami Book & woyww

Here is something I made for my husbands birthday:
It’s an Origami book that he can use to countdown the years until (very hopefully) early retirement. It’s wishful thinking, and a long time from now. Β I think we’ll need every little bit of humor, positive thinking and discipline to hopefully reach our goal.

Anyway: Here is the process in pictures (if you have questions about the folding instructions, please let me know. I simply followed instructions I found online – will look for the link againΒ here.
After I made this book, I found another version that is a little easier regarding the connection of the segments, but it uses tape, and I simply can’t do it: To me origami = no tape or glue! …(well, not this time, perhaps I change my mind some day)).

This is not my desk πŸ˜‰ Β I had to spread everything on the floor, as I used a grocery bag for this project.
I cut it into 4×4 squares (I’m certain I’ll use the leftover paper and handles for something else)
I hope this still count’s as ‘What’s On Your Workdesk Wednesday‘!!! (check it out, it’s on Julia’s blog)

201308_origami book5
Every square needs to be folded, of course πŸ™‚

201308_origami book4

Once the segments are connected, I prepared squares of pretty scrap paper and wrote little messages on them. Each of those scrap squares are then inserted into the little ‘frames’.

201308_origami book1

A little tangle in front (and some writing in the back) – done is the little book. I just love Origami. It amazes me every time what one can fold out of a simple piece of paper.
I’m also very glad, that my soon-to-be-10 yr old son likes to fold paper too (here are some of his creations :))

201308_origami book3

It doesn’t stay closed on it’s own, so it needs some ‘wrapping’ or a little box,
so it doesn’t show the content immediately.

201308_origami book2

Thank you so much for stopping by!
As always, I appreciate your visit and comments so much!

I hope you’ll visit again soon πŸ™‚

Cheers,

Jana

19 comments

  1. Yes, please do share the folding instructions! Also, how did you connect the squares — is that by folding and inserting, or did you tape them together?

    1. Amy, Thanks for your comment!
      Meanwhile I linked to the instructions… I connected the squares by folding (unfolding one part of the squares, inserting into a second square and folding to connect – you’ll see in the instructions :))
      Have fun trying this out!

  2. Cool desk! Amazing origami too, how clever.

  3. What a wonderful book, I love it!

    Back from my holidays wishing you happy WOYWW and a lovely week.
    xx Monique #97

  4. Hi there, I love your little book, the way it all goes together with no glue or tape and the tangle on the front is beautiful (I’m just learning to tangle, not very good yet!) Happy WOYWW πŸ™‚ AnnieC #96

  5. Very cool – a real work of art. LUV it πŸ™‚

    Happy WOYWW

    IKE xxx #99

  6. confessions_of_an_inkoholic · · Reply

    Wonderful origami and what a great way to count down to his retirement!

    Dawn #42

  7. Wow, what a clever little book – thank you for showing us.

    Lynda #89

  8. Hi Jana
    I love what you have done and your idea behind doing it and then there is what your son has been doing. what a creative family
    Enjoy WOYWW and have a great week
    Hugs Ria #43

  9. This origami is so impressive! I am in awe of what you have made with folded paper! It looks so very beautiful. Please come and visit and give me a tutorial!! Julie Ann xx #39

  10. What super fun projects ! Great when you can craft as a family ! Ali x #49

  11. Brilliant mini book. I do struggle with the instructions in Origami books, maybe I’ll have a go at this! Hugs. Pam#33

  12. Hi thanks for calling by. You asked about the stamps I was using? They are a mixture -some from Crafty Individuals, Inkylicious, Lavina mainly – should all be online!

  13. Hello there. That book is stunning. Well done.
    Thanks for visiting. Pergamano is an ancient art where you rub the back of a piece of parchment, which stretches the fibre, thus making it go white. The more you rub, the whiter it goes. As with all crafts, this has developed over the years – and you can now colour the parchment. You also prick patterns in it – usually geometric designs. It’s great fun, time consuming, very precise, but the results are exquisite. There is a page of pictures on my website – sorry they are not brilliant pictures – I had framed the works behind glass before remembering to photograph them!!! – old age creeping on!
    have a great week.
    Margaret #69

  14. Jana, that is one fabulous origami book you made for your hubby! Very cool! I’m new here at WOYWW and I hope you’ll come by for a peek at my desk! Suzy #139

  15. What a great idea!

  16. Very nice work! I am sure he loves it!

  17. To me origami has to be without glue too πŸ˜‰

    LOVE your origami booklet! Thanks for the lovely visit!

    die amelie x

Leave a Reply

