The Old Masters

Some more pictures from our trip…

[please scroll down to the end of this post, if you can’t wait to see my GIT* entry 😉
* GIT = Glue it Tuesday – hosted by aimee on artsyville – go check it out, always neat to see what everyone made]

201307_wismar_goodbye

Goodbye Wismar!

Hello! Amsterdam

201307_amsterdam_bike

we really found this bike!

It was a long anticipated visit to Amsterdam, that got me (and my Mr.) very excited. My parents would spend one and a half weeks with our children and we were free to go. What a treat! Very rare (due to our locations) and so much treasured.

We visited to Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum (will cover this in a separate post). Thank goodness we’re both on the same page here. makes it much easier to decide what to do while traveling.

Here we go – some pictures of the many we took. My husband is the ‘real’ amateur photographer and he’s still working on his pics. He likes to be perfect, I just like to share what I have NOW 😉

The Rijksmuseum

The Rijksmuseum

I was just overwhelmed by so much art and collections. So much to see… Were to start, were to stop.

We entered the museum in the morning and decided to finish our visit in the afternoon. (Again – this wouldn’t have been possible if we had our children with us!) It was awesome.
Perhaps I’ll share some more pictures, but for now I decided to post some interesting details I found.

Almost forgot: My GIT picture!!! …my journal 🙂 Some snippets and maps, tickets and sketches… the page is not finished, but you get the idea 😉

201308_git_journal_wismar

As always: thank you so very much for stopping by – it means a lot to me.

Cheers,

Jana

10 comments

  1. Pamikins · · Reply

    Jana, these are awesome pics! Really love the fly on a portrait. That artist saw life through warped glasses. Hugs, Pamikins

    1. Thanks, Pam! …I really had fun looking for details, once I saw that fly. I was surprised that one could get really close to the paintings without any barrier (well, there were exceptions)

  2. I remember these wonderful paintings in the Rijksmuseum. These old masters are breathtaking, I could have spent days there. Love the details you saw!

    1. You’re so right – we felt the same. We were simply wiped out after 5 hours, but I wouldn’t have mind going in again the next day (if only time wasn’t the issue…)

  3. The bike – wow wow wow! Your post makes me long to travel, anywhere, somewhere. I’m putting Amsterdam on my wish list!

  4. Isn’t that bike so cool?! I couldn’t believe my eyes 🙂 …and wait until I post more Amsterdam pics, bike’s are everywhere in Amsterdam, that’s no secret, but THAT one was also a really unique discovery (well, at least for us it was ;))
    I’d go to Amsterdam again – no doubt. Make sure you’ll cross it off your list one day!!!

  5. boogmartin · · Reply

    That bike is amazing. Very cool

  6. […] new art supplies when we returned from our trip (check the last two posts and more to come) I can’t wait to use them […]

  7. The Van Gogh museum is the best.

    1. I can’t make up my mind – I would visit both – the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh again anytime!!! … I’d have a hard time choosing…
      Thanks for stopping by! …and stay tuned for a post about the Van Gogh museum

Leave a Reply

