Journal peek

As we prepare for our vacation, I try to catch up on my journal AND cover some of the challenges I participate in. I like to peek into other’s journals, so I thought I share mine again (even though those pages are not finished yet).

201307_desk_wk28

We went to a castle nearby last weekend – they have a fantastic cake buffet and one can enjoy coffee and sweets outside in the garden… big old trees provide shade, a playground keeps the youngsters happy. It was really nice and we stayed longer than we had thought we would.

The left page has some info on the castle. I’ll add journaling for sure and whatever might fit 🙂
This visit and a fairy tale my kids watched last weekend also inspired to draw/paint some castle garden layouts on index cards (hello ICAD!) – two of them are laying on the right page. My son took over the first card I started and finished it. He loved it so much he needed to start another one. Perhaps I can keep him going – that would be nice 🙂 (we used water color pencils)
BTW: The yellow tag on the right page is from one of our many moving boxes! I ‘reclaimed’ it before the box went to the recycling container… it’s been little over  a year now, that we moved to Sweden.

201307_journal_wk28

Of course, no post complete without something bird related 😉
A Yellow Wagtail (on tea filter) preparing to reach for some red berries.

201307_yellow_wagtail

Thank you all for your visit! I appreciate that you take the time to stop by 🙂
Cheers,

Jana

Linking to

ICAD
Summer of Colors
WOYWW
Glue It Tuesday

35 comments

  1. What a beautiful bird. I would love to see one in real life.

  2. A cake buffet. Now that sounds like fun. I love how you put little bits of your life in your jounal.

  3. Such a happy page Jana, full of summer memories! How fun to journal with the kids!

  4. It is great that you keep your memories in a journal like that. An of course I adore the bird!

  5. Thanks for the journal peek! I love your workspace…it looks full and yet so organized! 🙂

  6. Oh! This is so wonderful! I LOVE your journal with the treasures in it. Your bird is beautiful. How amazing is it to create art with your son!

  7. I’ve never heard of a cake buffet, but it sounds decadent. Being able to visit for SOC is such a treat, but also visiting from ICADs makes it even more special. I felt like I got a two-fer.

    I’m a big fan of recycled art. It’s always fun to look at art made using cardboard. And it’s so pretty, too. It was fun peeking into your journal page. I loved the bird!

  8. What a lovely spread and that little bird is precious. Wonderful.

  9. Great to see a peek of your journal, but most of all I love your bird, its colours are wonderful. Thanks for visiting me.

  10. A beautiful delicate bird- what great journal art!

  11. Your yllow Wagtail is delightful, love the idea of using the teafilter paper too!

  12. Your journal is very intriguing. Love the overhead shots on the table.

  13. LOVE your sweet little bird!!!.. And on a tea filter?!! I never would have guessed it! I guess creativity knows no limits, no barriers!

  14. Lovely fresh and interesting page, beautiful bird! Great photos!

  15. Oh, your bird is so delicate and lovely. It would be great if your son could keep on creating his cards, what fun to share something like that. My daughter and I used to do drawing together when she was little and now she is at art school! Oh yes and the castle sounds fun. Have a lovely woyww. Julie Ann xx #55

  16. Uniflame · · Reply

    Thanks for showing me this!! I don’t have a journal yet, but I started with some journaling techniques this week. also like looking in books of others 🙂 Uniflame – 85

  17. Super journal and even more super bird, you are truly talented at bird drawing. Thanks for visiting me already BJ#36

  18. I love the book of your memories, good for you keeping up on this.

    Sweet bird, lovely job on it!!

  19. Love your journal spread and the bird.
    xx

  20. Sweet journal pages, even when they are a working progress :). The yellow bird steals my heart!. Love how delicate the berries look on tea filter, and I love the story about visiting castle!.

  21. great that your son is getting involved with things you enjoy. Sounds like a wonderful trip to the castle. Love your birdie, as usual! {:-Deb

  22. Peeking in art journals is always fun, Jana–thank you for giving us a glimpse!

    (Hand binding your own art journal, wouldn’t that be fun??!!)

    Thank you for stopping by this woyww, I appreciate your visit.
    :)trisha
    #26

  23. The castle sounds like an amazing place to visit and your bird just looks wonderful happy WOYWW hugs Nikki #16

  24. Love peeking in your journal and hearing about the cake buffet, but it’s your gorgeous bird that totally captures my heart.

  25. Your journal pages are lovely, it’s great to have all the memories in one place! Your children’s cards are very cool too!

  26. I like peeking into journals too! LOVE the index cards with the garden layouts – that’s a great idea to look at gardens for patterns. I might ‘steel’ that, ha! Happy ~ belated ~ woyww and a hug from Holland. Marit #91 (P.S. I forgot to mention the van Gogh museum in my email… if you visit Amsterdam, the van Gogh museum is worth a visit too! And a strawl along the canels, just walking… and the Anne Frank house…. Ohmy.. do you have time for all that???

  27. Linda K · · Reply

    lovely journal pages! So glad you mentioned your castle is in Sweden- I absolutely LOVE castles and was wondering where you were 🙂

  28. Zoe Young Kirkby (@CraftygasheadZo) · · Reply

    Super journal work! Take care Zo xx 65

  29. A castle, cake buffet and sweets in the garden! Sounds like heaven.

  30. Lovely pages and great record of your castle visit! I love your bird and how it is reaching for the red berries!

  31. Lovely to see inside your visual journal & that your son helped!

  32. I hope you have a good vacation! I love your journal pages and especially love your bird!!!!

  33. So fun to see your beautiful pages! I especially love your bird!

  34. Love your birds!! It is such a treat arting with your children, I am loving my daughter’s cards, they will be a treasure in years to come. I hope you enjoy your vacation. 🙂

Leave a Reply

