The sparrow

Sparrows are always present – no matter where I lived so far, they’ve always been around. It is a nice feeling to have someone familiar around, when one moves places… Here’s to the sparrow! πŸ™‚

201306_sparrow_filter_foto

I haven’t had enough yet of sketching/painting on tea filter, as you can see πŸ˜‰
(The light wasn’t the best the day I took the pictures.)

201306_blue_bird3_filter

He wanted to wear his most colorful feathers (he’s a sparrow too!)

201306_sparrows_filter

They really like each other, they told me πŸ™‚

201306_icad21

This one reads
‘ein Spatz in der Hand’
as in
‘Lieber ein Spatz in der Hand als die Taube auf dem Dach.’
or
‘A sparrow in the hand is worth two in the bush.’

A real leaf from our garden here in Sweden, the sparrow (watercolor pencil on tea filter),
washi tape off of Tammy’s mail art – Thank you!!! πŸ™‚
doodles with pitt pen in grey and white ink.

I’m linking this little card (index card!)
to the ICAD 2013 challenge on Tammy’s blog
and to
Glue It TuesdayΒ over on aimee’s blog as well.

I hope you see many birds today πŸ™‚
(they always make me smile)
Cheers,

Jana

26 comments

  1. Hi Jana,

    They are beautiful. So stunning. At first, I thought that they were napkins and I was devastated that you would draw something so beautiful on something so temporary as a napkin. I hope that these tea filters are not temporary, but everything is ultimately temporary, isn’t it? lol.. Beautiful work.

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words, Amy! I’m really sorry you felt devastated!!! That’s not my intention to make my readers feel that way – at all – of course not. πŸ˜‰
      Well, I really treasure those little birds, so I’ll handle them with care until I know where they like to settle. You’re right, those filters ARE very delicate, but on the other hand they’re meant to hold material while brewing in hot water, so they do withstand some handling πŸ™‚
      Please let me know if you like one of the birds (or if you have a favorite bird) – perhaps I should ask for small donations so I can send them out in the world. …just an idea that popped in my head while writing this πŸ™‚

  2. Moin Jana,
    Sparrows accompanied me most of my life, clever and smart little creatures. And drawing on a tea bag seems also clever to me, as the haptic of the paper is quite lively.
    What surprised me, where I live now, the forest edge, there a many, many birds, but no sparrows…

  3. Your birdies are adorable! I also thought they were on napkins too — but I think that would be awesome! The thin layers would make them great for collage…

    1. Thanks, aimee! So nice of you to take time to stop by again πŸ™‚
      Perhaps I should make more and spread them among collage lovers (I have tons of tea filters ;))

  4. Holy Moly, These are gorgeous! Absolutely stunning. I am so impressed at the detail on these tiny drawings.

  5. Gorgeous, as always! I linked up to Glue It Tuesday for the first time today. πŸ™‚

    1. Awesome Carly! I saw your link and visited your collage πŸ™‚

  6. boogmartin · · Reply

    Your birds are just wonderful. I look forward to what you will do next!

    1. They’re waiting in line patiently, Boo πŸ˜‰ I’m glad you visited!

  7. I always love your birds, Jana!! So sweet & delicate & beautifully rendered!

    1. So sweet of you, Patricia. Thank you! πŸ™‚

  8. I love to see your birdies! Very pretty, no matter what you say! {:-Deb

    1. Thanks so much for visiting, Deb! πŸ™‚

  9. Your work is simply gorgeous Jana. I can’t get enough of your lovely birds!

    1. Then I’m sure I’ll have more to come for you to enjoy πŸ™‚
      Thanks, Deborah!

  10. Linda K · · Reply

    what sweet bird illustrations! I’m very lucky to see many birds and varieties of birds but alas, I can’t draw them…

    1. Linda, Thank you! …BTW – for the longest time I thought I can’t draw birds… just try, you might be surprised πŸ˜‰

  11. Your birds are just so wonderful! always a treat for the eyes and I like the delicate paper you chose to put them on.
    ~Dawn

  12. Love your sparrows Jana! They look very much like ours. They used to be such pests when I was growing up as they’d nest in the rafters under the house. Mum and Dad hated them. But they really are quite a cute and neat little package!

  13. I love sparrows too but even more the blackbirds we have nesting in the garden every year… my beloved don’t like their early (5 am!!) singing – they sit right on the pergola under our bedroom window then – but I welcome that morning concert! Enjoy the birds! Happy ~ belated ~ Glue it Tuesday. Hug from Holland

  14. Wonderful birds again! I especially adore what you did with the last one, making it into a small mixed media piece….so charming! Perhaps you might make more like this? Great work! Peace to your heart, Sara

  15. Beautiful sparrows, so lovely! THEY make me smile! πŸ˜‰

  16. Lovely! I do love sparrows….

  17. Jana, they are stunning creations!!

    1. Thanks, Natasha! πŸ™‚ …BTW – finally mail art is on it’s way to you!!!

Leave a Reply

