Birds – again (or better: still)

I have drawn more birdies and I thought it would be a shame not to share them. (I hope you enjoy them as much as I do :))
Also it’s time for ‘Glue It Tuesday’ (aimee is hosting! go check out her blog…) and so I used one of my birdies for a postcard again (which will also be part of my ICAD collection)

Since pictures speak more than a million words, here you go:

For all the birds I drew in the past few days I used tea filters as ‘canvas’.
Very very delicate – I had to be careful not to rip the material as I sketched the birds (with pencil) and colored them with watercolor pencils.
I really can’t wait to go buy some artist’s watercolors – oh my birds will be even more colorful!!! πŸ™‚
I outlined the birds with a ZIG 005 pen, added a little white reflection to their eyes and then went over the watercolor penciled areas with a damp brush…

201306_bird_collection1

I can’t make up my mind – I like both – the more realistic coloring and the fantasy colors πŸ™‚
How about you?!

201306_rotkehlchen_filter 201306_pink_bird1_filter 201306_bofink_filter 201306_blue_bird1_filter

and last but not least, the ‘Rotkehlchen’ (that’s the German name for this cute bird)
on a postcard
(well, actually it’s an index card – 4×6)
[watercolor background, paper napkin for the ground, washi tape on the sides,
the bird cut out and the postage, stamp and writing are digital brushes]

201306_rotkehlchen_postcard2

…not sure if I’ll ever Β send this card – I love it so much πŸ™‚

BTW – I’m too relieved to not share this: My biopsies results came back healthy!!!
(every other year or so doctors decide it’s better to check than to risk another malignant find)
That makes 12 years past cancer diagnosis. Happy day!!! πŸ™‚

I truly hope you’re having a fantastic day too!
Thank you so much for stopping by.

Cheers,

Jana

43 comments

  1. Happy days indeed Jana and your birds are beautiful πŸ™‚

  2. Time flies by – Tuesday again! First of all congrats for your lab results – a big, big stone must have been rolled from your heart (translation 1:1). Your birds are just adorable, you became a real expert. Here I have a treasure from our garden: Gartenrotschwanz. He was the bird of 2011. Quiet rare meanwhile and he lives in our garden. He is a beauty: http://www.nabu.de/aktionenundprojekte/vogeldesjahres/2011-gartenrotschwanz/12850.html

    1. Danke Dir, Gabriele!
      You bet, that was a HUGE relief, reading those results. A
      And also thanks for the link – so beautiful. You’re lucky to have them in your garden! Do you have a nest box, or did you find a nest somewhere else?! We had (I hope still ‘have’) quite a few boxes for many different kind of birds in our garden in the U.S.
      Anyway – I think I might try sketching that Gartenrotschwanz πŸ™‚

      1. They found themselves a snuggly little place under the rooftop, only a small opening in the front, like a cave.
        If you imagine this little bird travels every autumn and spring 6000-8000 km one way!!!! And I feel terribly tired after 950 km traveling to denmark!! Respekt!!!!!

  3. Jana,
    Your birds are wonderful. It’s amazing you painted them on a tea filter. I do wish you’d hurry and come back to the states. I need lessons!! Again, I’m so happy to hear about your great biopsy results.

    1. You’re so sweet, Boo πŸ™‚ Thank you very much.
      I’m afraid you have to be patient – we’ll be here another two years (at least that’s the most recent plan ;))

  4. Jo Berneche · · Reply

    Happy for your positive GOOD results, Love your little birds, Thanks for sharing.

    1. Thank you so much, Jo!

  5. Oh what wonderful birds – I love them all very much! And on coffee filters with pencils? Oh my! Congratulations on the good news. I do believe one of your delightful birds is a bluebird of happiness. πŸ˜‰

    1. Awww, thank you! πŸ™‚
      BTW – it’s not coffee filters (though THAT might be fun too, to sketch on them) – they are mainly for tea and much thinner than the coffee filters… I should post a close up picture of both filter for comparison…

  6. so nice to hear you’re doing well. I love your birdies – you have a real talent for them. I never tire of seeing them! {:-Deb

    1. That’s sweet of you, Deb! Thank you πŸ™‚

  7. Congratulations on your fabulous test results! I’m so glad to hear such wonderful news. And as always, your birdies are just beautiful!

    1. Thank you, Ali πŸ™‚

  8. […] If you like to see those birdies closer, just look at yesterday’s post […]

  9. Congrats on your medical news, Jana! Your postcard is lovely! If you ever DO decide to send it, it would find a happy home right here! πŸ™‚ Your birdies are lovely on the tea filters…I’m not even sure what those are! But realistic OR fanciful, they look great.

    1. Andria, I keep that in mind… Thanks πŸ™‚
      tea filters… received a few comments about them – I think I’ll do a post explaining… but meanwhile here is a link to my (former) tee store – perhaps that explains the filters a bit better:
      http://www.etsy.com/transaction/80342822

  10. Oh my! They are so beautiful! Wonderful news…12 years! Hugs, Nan G

    1. Thank you so much for your hug – always nice to be hugged πŸ™‚

  11. Wonderful health news, Jana! So happy to hear it! And your little birdies are just amazing! I love them both too! They each have their own unique personalities. Ideally love the blue-capped bird as well as the pink & red…beautiful!!

    1. Thank you Thank you, Patricia! Always nice to see you here πŸ™‚

  12. I just adore your birds! I’m a huge bird fan as well. I especially like the birdie with the blue cap but they are all wonderful! I’m going to have to do some practicing on my drawing/painting skills to get as good as you are at birds. Right now I am working on faces…ugh! I painted my first face a couple of days ago and it isn’t exactly pretty….better than I thought I’d do, but still not pretty. I should probably start with smaller faces than my full page version! Keep sharing your birds! Peace to your heart, Sara

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words! Your comment really means a lot to me.
      Keep drawing faces! It’s fun to see how one evolves. I’ll keep sharing birds, you bet πŸ˜‰

      1. Thank you for your encouragement….I will!

  13. These are great! I have trouble with the basic bird shape which you’ve clearly mastered.
    Happy GIT!
    Rinda

    1. Thank you, Rinda. Sometimes sketching my birds goes very well, but not always! Some of those little guys don’t give me their shape easily πŸ˜‰ I really draw lots of birds and not all are looking as I imagined them. Just keep trying – I do the same πŸ™‚

  14. your hot pink/orange birdie fits in perfectly with Kristin’s Summer of Color challenge this week (that’s the color theme) — you should link up there too! πŸ™‚

    (kristin’s blog is twinkletwinklelikeastar.blogspot.com)

    so happy to hear that you are healthy!!!

    1. thanks for the hint, aimee! just linked πŸ™‚
      always nice to see you visiting – much appreciated!

  15. Awesome and beautiful birds – every single one of them!

    1. So nice of you to say that, Sharon πŸ™‚ Thank you!

  16. How cute your birds are, love love them!! I can’t choose a favorite either, they are all special and colorful. Great job on the details and coloring for each one. I like that you aren’t afraid to use something delicate to sketch/paint on.

    CONGRATS on the 12 years, so happy for you!! Wishing you continued good health for many more years to come.

    Happy first day of summer!!
    p.s. This is my first year with ICAD and the Glue It Tuesday, love all these fun ways to be creative this summer. Your last bird is so sweet and love the background and stamps for it.

    1. Dawn, Thank you so much for your kind words!!! πŸ™‚ Where do you usually post your ICAD cards?!

  17. Lovely little birdies. The canvas looks so delicate. I’d be worried about them falling apart.

    1. Thanks, Halle! …you’d be surprised how much that material can take πŸ˜‰ (tough little filters!)

  18. Wow, congratulations on 12 years! Amazing! I just love your little birdies. I prefer the wild colors. I’m a big fan of painting natural things un-natural colors. πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks, Carly! …make sure to stop by for more birds in wild colors πŸ˜‰

  19. Those are beautiful birds, I love them!

    1. Thank you, Monique!

  20. These are all lovely and i like both the realistic and the fantasy colours… don’t think I could pick either /or … and congrats on another year … 12 years is fabulous…xx

  21. Love your birdies, I can’t possibly pick a favorite!

  22. What wonderful birds! I love the colors and details and the size must be so fun to see in person. SO happy to have you join the SOC and congratulations on your health check up! xoxo

  23. Jana, thank you for directing me to this wonderful post showing your teabag art! The little birds are quite exquisite. I love them all, but if I were forced to make a choice, I’d go for the natural ones – although I adore bright colours and often go for a more arty interpretation than photo-realism… So hard to choose!

    I know this comment comes nearly a year after the post, but I am so pleased that your cancer test came back clear. What a huge relief for you and your family and friends. Long may it continue!

    Shoshi

    1. Awww – your comment is so much appreciated! Yes, I’m still very glad indeed that that test came back all clear. And still: So far, so good.

      Regarding the birds I’m the same – sometimes I do like to make them funky and really colorful, but I tend to stick with the natural colors more often.
      Thanks again for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

