WOYWW time

This is not necessarily my work desk, but our ‘blue table’ which is synonym meanwhile for the table with all kinds of stuff on it. I like to sit on this table and add to my journal and my boys’ smash books – especially while they’re sitting at that table too. It’s our favorite spot in the afternoons, when they’re home from school and need some time to read or draw or play their games. My older son also folds his origami here too. ย I also like to ‘display’ my work in progress here because I can look at it frequently and think about how to finish it. On rare occasions we eat at this table ๐Ÿ˜‰
If you’re wondering why I post all this, just hop on over to Julia’s blog!

Anyway – here are some pictures:

That’s what it looked like last weekend.

201306_woyww_wk23

An index card – will be mail art and also linked to icad2013.
acrylics, doodles, handwriting, pressed flower ‘Buschwindrรถschen’ in German
(will have to look it up in English…)

201306_woyww_wk23d1

another snail – I told you (here) that we have lots of them! ๐Ÿ˜‰
watercolor pencil on the wrong kind of watercolor paper – too rough!
I can’t wait to be in Germany to buy supplies at more affordable prices. I try to do my sketches on what I have on hand before I stock up on paper and paint (I’m in desperate need of watercolor paper and also watercolor paint. But since we’re really close now to our vacation, I think can handle it…)

201306_woyww_wk23d2

Another bird sketch – watercolor on watercolor paper.
Dohle (German) or Jackdaw (English)
Yes, we see them daily. I love their light blue eyes!

201306_woyww_wk23d3

Because I like them – here’s another painting of a Dohle/Jackdaw
This time I tried adding details with a 005 Zig pen. I like the idea but I think I overdid it a little on the wing (it’s hard to see in this scan…)

201306_woyww_wk23d4

Oh – yes: I finally got a lino cutter (my old one is still in the U.S. and it took me a while to find one here). I think my friend Theresa might like this one ๐Ÿ™‚

201306_woyww_wk23d5

…stamped on an index card (yes, also counts towards my icad stash :))
Unfortunately the brown ink is the only ink pad I own right now. Same ting here – I will hopefully stock up in Germany with some more cheerful colors.

201306_cat_stamp_icad5_72

Thank you all for visiting!!! Have a great mid-week. It’s ‘Nationaldagen’ in Sweden tomorrow – it’s a Holiday so we’ll be away for the weekend (to explore yet another part of beautiful Sweden :))
I will catch up on woyww once we’re back.

Cheers,

Jana

content and images ยฉ 2013 Jana Bodin @ TangledPen

19 comments

  1. This is so cool Jana. You know I love your birds, but this stamp is great!!

    1. Hej! Thanks Gabriele ๐Ÿ™‚ I love that stamp too – I’m afraid I can’t stop now ๐Ÿ˜‰

      1. Why stop??? ๐Ÿ™‚

        1. lol! ๐Ÿ™‚
          …indeed – there’s no reason

          (the only thing that will stop me is missing carving block… do you know by chance if I can get that in Germany – we’ll be in Hamburg too) right know I’m using erasers

  2. I could do with a blur table (a table would be good, full stop!!) Have a great week. Helen 5

    1. You too Helen, have a great week. Thanks for stopping by ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. We love the idea of a family work space where you can all craft and play together. You look very busy there today.

    The house of bears @#85

  4. Maisie Moonshine · · Reply

    Hi Jana, I haven’t visited you before – and for that I am sorry. I love it that you craft together with your children, you are making happy memories there. Your art work is stunning – I love your bird sketch! Thank you for your visit and your kind comments – when I did the background on the orange pages I didn’t have any idea where the design was going, but I’m so glad I kept it simple – the black stamping just seems to work doesn’t it? Have a happy week MMx #68

  5. boogmartin · · Reply

    Jana, Love that blue index card. It’s very cool that you and the boys sit together in the afternoon and work on projects. Theresa is going to want that cat!!! Well done.

  6. Love your bird drawing, it looks great from here! Your stamp is really nice, too, the kitties look good in brown. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Happy Woyww,

    Sandy #36

  7. Great to have such a roomy table to put all your work. I can imagine it being veru cosy in the afternoons when your boys join you. Beautiful stamp you carved and I love the birds. Have a nice long weekend =)

  8. It must be a great way to spend time with the kids and they sometimes can join in the fun ๐Ÿ™‚ hugs Nikki 2

  9. Gosh wish I had known about the cheaper supplies in Germany as my husband has been there since Monday but is probably on the plane back by now! Also your lino stamp is amazing, I have only just started this and there must be a knack with the cutter but I haven’t found it yet! Any hints would be appreciated. BJ#22

    1. Hej BJ, Thanks for stopping by! Well, I’m not sure the supplies in Germany are cheaper than in the UK. I’m in Sweden right now, so I was comparing to prices here ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Anyway – I looked at your hand carved leave – it looks great to me! …the cat was my first piece in a long time, so I’d say just keep carving and make sure your tools are sharp. Did you carve anything else yet?! (…I’ll get back to your blog to check :))
      Cheers!

  10. Beautiful bird sketch and I really LOVE your cat stamp! Happy WOYWW :o) x

  11. What a wonderful, crafty desk. The drawing of the Jackdaw is stunning. Have a great time away.
    Happy (late) WOYWW. Pam#9

  12. I LOVE the small painting of the bird, we have a lot of those birds in the garden (they come from a park nearby) – they’re called ‘kauw’ in Dutch. The stamp of the cat is so cute! I love making your own stamps! Happy ‘nationaldag’ and happy ~ belated ~ woyww, Marit #70 P.S. your ATC is on its way ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Thank you all so much for your kind and lovely comments!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll be on my way to visit you desks too… but it will take me a while – we’re on our way to a long weekend out of town.

  14. […] very often. Sometimes it’s the blue table where I can work together with my kids, other times it’s the messy table downstairs (to paint […]

Leave a Reply

