Chickadee progress (and some little GIT)

…remember the little chickadee sketch from last week?
Well, over the weekend I sketched it again – a little bigger (and more realistic) on watercolor paper. I love it so far ๐Ÿ™‚
It sits right next to me while I’m typing – makes me smile when I look at it.

chickadee - times two

chickadee – times two

chickadee in Spring watercolor pencils

chickadee in Spring watercolor pencils

201305_blaumeise_coloreddetail

I like to link this to Aimee’s blog as well (for Glue It Tuesday), so here is some digitalย gluing:

201305_digi_mailart_blaumeise

I used this painting to play with Photoshop and ‘glued’ the birdie onto a (scanned) envelope (that my boys received from my parents). I added part of a vintage map of Stockholm to this collage…

I think I like the bird better ‘pure’ – not collaged. At least right now… but on the other hand, this collageย serves so well as journal page to represent our weekend:
We’ve been to Stockholm with our kids, saw many of those sweet birds and ‘Skype-d’ with my parents ๐Ÿ™‚

I hope you had a great weekend too!

Thanks so much for visiting!
Cheers,
Jana

linked here too:

glue it 2ย ced2013v1

32 comments

  1. Beautiful bird, love the collage

    1. Thank you, Zena. I saw your recent bird photograph – how sweet!

  2. Your birdie turned out just beautiful! And I also prefer the “pure” version.

    1. Danke, Gabriele. Always nice to see you here ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Just beautiful! I quite like it on the envelope. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thanks, Alison! Looks like I need to print that collage and send it around as mail art… what do you think?! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Oh! I love your sweet birdie! Lovely, it is.

    1. Thank you, Kathy! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Love your wee bird and the collage!

    1. Thanks so much, Bev!

  6. I’m a ‘vintage’ and layered and typography kind of girl, so I love the last image best. Watercolours are so delicate and luminous – I’ve never mastered the light touch necessary – and your bird makes me smile too!

    1. Thanks! Yes, me too – โ€˜vintageโ€™ (not too vintage – only certain kind – there’s a fine line… ;))
      and layered and typography kind of girl ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thanks, Yolanda!

  7. I love process posts… it is so cool to see how your birdie evolved!

    1. Thank you for taking the time to comment, aimee! You must be so busy now with that washi tape craziness!

  8. great little chickadee and wonderful digital gluing. tfs

    1. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks!

  9. OH, I love it! and I like how colorful she is on that background. I put a bird in one of my collages last week and when I did I thought of YOU!
    Have a wonderful day!
    ~Dawn

    1. How sweet of you ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll have to see your collage.
      I can’t help it, I just love birds…
      Thanks for stopping by!

  10. I’m a great fan of illustrated envelopes. This is lovely.

    1. Thanks, Ziggy. I LOVE your envelopes… to say the least.

  11. Such a beautiful bird!! Thanks for sharing your process too!

    1. Thank YOU for commenting! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Cheers!

  12. I really like the photoshop edited version a lot, but I always love postcard looks.

    1. Yes, I noticed on your blog, that you’re in love with postcards ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Thanks for stopping by, Hanna!

  13. Your bird looks beautiful on the envelope!

    1. Thanks Betsy! So nice of you to stop by here…

  14. lunardaughter · · Reply

    Oh what a beautiful chickadee – and how lovely to see your process. It makes me smile to see it’s taking flight on an envelope as well.

    1. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thank you!

  15. What a sweet bird, and how fun to have a piece that makes you smile. The concept of “digital gluing” is neat!

  16. your watercoloring effect is so cute. I love the birdie in the first place, but adding color really makes it come alive. And I like the way you Photoshop-ed it! {:-Deb

Leave a Reply

