Mail Art Envelopes & Glue It Tuesday

I can’t throw away paper. Good that it’s possible to recycle and even better that it can be reused 🙂

Not that I have no envelopes, but it’s always been kind of addicting to make my own envelopes. The last few days I found myself folding and ripping paper to be glued to envelopes. (I don’t use scissors as long as the paper can be torn nicely – I like the ‘rugged’ edges.) I need to make a new template for envelopes that hold 4×6 (10x15cm) cards. The one I use right know makes standard invitation size envelopes 4 3/8″ x 5 5/8″ (fits 8 1/2 x 11 paper folded in quarters).

I used Swedish travel brochures and other advertising material this time.

Anyway – here are a few 🙂

envelopes made out of recycled paper

envelopes made out of recycled paper

recycled paper envelope

recycled paper envelope

Mary, your card is on it’s way in the envelope with the little ‘eco’ label as seal 🙂

The envie on top is ready to bring Mary her mail art :)

The envie on top is ready to bring Mary her mail art 🙂

Thanks for reading!!!

I linked this post here as well:

glue it 2

Artsyville ‘Glue it Tuesday’
&
Tangled Pen on facebook

22 comments

  1. What a fabulous idea! These look amazing! I’d love to receive one of your fancy envelopes one day. 😉

    1. No problem, Alison 🙂
      Envelope coming up your way in the near future 😉

  2. Such a great idea!!

    1. Thanks! 🙂
      …and very easy to do – great to share this activity with kids!!!

  3. boogmartin · · Reply

    Your recycled envelopes are very cool. Great idea!

    1. Thanks! 🙂
      I make those once in a while to have a stash on hand when needed, and recently the kids are helping too (to mail something to their friends – ahhh so great to see them enjoy ‘mail art’ and recycling 🙂

  4. jana, now i really can’t wait to get my “mail art”. how did you know that old red buildings are another of my loves. will be stalking the mail man. 😉

  5. just wonderful! i love envelope art!

  6. Impressive and WONDERFUL!!!

    1. Thanks, Lynn 🙂

  7. great use of recycled paper! {:-Deb

    1. Yep – one of my favorite thing to re-use paper 🙂
      Thanks for your comment!

  8. I LOVE envelopes from recycled paper (magazines, atlasses…) and yours look gorgeous!

    1. Me too – I’m especially ‘nuts’ about recycling maps. Just love them.
      Thanks for stopping by, Marit. I enjoy reading your blog as well 🙂

  9. Cool idea! I like it and must give it a try. Very personal!

    1. Yes, try – it’s easy 🙂
      I’m doing this on and off as I long as I can think… Also a neat gift for those who like to write letters.

  10. Very unique and adds that personal touch! 🙂

    1. Thank you, Lynn 🙂

  11. […] (regular tip, S and F) and watercolor pencil. Everything packed in an envelope from the ‘recycled envelope‘ […]

  12. They are just wonderful!

    1. Thank you! 🙂

  13. […] making a template for envelopes that can hold my 4×6 index/post/mail art cards. As mentioned here, I like to make envelopes myself out of recycled […]

Leave a Reply

