I’m going slightly mad…

…might be a slight understatement for what the Swedish King must have thought when he knew his majestic ship was sinking on it’s first voyage. The ship left the harbor and after 1.5 km (about a mile) sunk…

If you’re interested hop on over to the homepage of the Vasa Museum and read more. It is a very fascinating museum – one can see the ship from different levels and there are many many interesting facts about the whole era (the ship was build Β in 1629). 1961 it was hauled up from the bottom of the sea close to where the museum was built… amazing amazing. We’re really fortunate to be able to visit this place now while we live in Sweden.

Anyway – this page is a result also for prompt#10 of Daisy Yellow’s Art – thanks Tammy πŸ™‚

Lyrics (Queen: “I’m going slightly mad”
Museum (Vasa Museet Stockholm)
Kaleidoscope (source was a picture/diagram in the museum, explaining what bacteria among other ‘things’ did to the wood of the ship – I copied this shape several time on the page and also drew them on the Tape and a separate piece of paper, that I colored in)
Tag or Label (what a coincidence that i found that tag!!! I know I know, very sarcastic, but I couldn’t help it πŸ˜‰ – I hope it’s OK and enough time has past to use this tag)
Lime Green (tried toΒ achieve lime green with my limited supply of acrylic paints and watercolor pencils and magic markers
Tape (used regular tape on top and bottom of the page and scribbled lines and ‘bacteria’ kaleidoscopes on it)

The ship is a print of a picture I took at the museum… background acrylics (black, green, yellow, blue); Sharpie, Zig and Uniball pens for writing and sketches/scribbles

Let me know what you think πŸ™‚

art journal page - Vasa Museum

art journal page – Vasa Museum

12 comments

  1. Funny, cheerful page! Really like it!

    1. πŸ™‚ Thanks!

  2. I laughed so hard when you said you hope enough time has passed for the tag…hehehe…this is too cool!

    1. now always be careful not to eat while you look at art journal pages… πŸ˜‰
      Thanks!

  3. I really like this page. It looks like you painted the ship. The tag is great!!

    1. Thanks, Boo!
      I only painted/sketched over the picture… so I can’t take credit for painting it (I’ love to be able to paint like that!)

  4. chel1974 · · Reply

    I LOVE it- what a great way to incorporate a photograph with a journal pages. I need to do more of that.

  5. Thank you, Chel! Yes, do that – I think it’s also good for surprises (as for this one for example – I printed the photograph on regular copy paper and since one of the colors is running low, I got some nice greenish lines in the dark lower part of the ship – that was perfect!) πŸ™‚

  6. your art journal page is really inspiring
    I will go check it out
    xxx

  7. I love your colors..the green is gorgeous!! I love your doodles too…adds so much! Great job!

    1. Thank you! πŸ™‚
      I’m glad you found my blog and appreciate your following. I’ll head over to check out your blog too.

Leave a Reply

