Meow – acrylics & crayon

I’m glad I decided to take the opportunity of the “Abstract Fine Art Painting with Mixed Media”  workshop. (Strathmore Online Workshops – they’re even free!)

I really had fun experimenting after the first lesson. I used acrylics & crayon in a mixed media sketch book. Here the results:

my favorite:

purrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

purrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

followed by this one:

meow!

meow!

and since I wanted more, I ‘printed’ both cats by closing the book on the still wet paint:

I’m sure I’ll use them at one point as art journal page. Fun fun 🙂

…and I painted another one

miau (this one speaks German ;)) Acrylics & Crayon

miau (this one speaks German ;))
Acrylics & Crayon

Thanks for stopping by!

14 comments

  1. Great stuff! Such lovely cats. I meant to sign up to this course. I wonder if I still can?

    1. Thank you! 🙂
      I bet you can, Alison. I sign up after the official opening day…

  2. This looks fantastic Jana! Was going to check out that workshop and now that you have shared this I will do it soon!

    1. Thank you, Lynn!
      Can’t wait to see your painting(s) 🙂

  3. These are SO cool! I really love the black/blue one…but then the first one is great too…I love them both, I confess! I will have to check out the workshops!

    1. Thanks, sweetred 🙂 I do love them both too…
      Have a nice day!

  4. Jana, your cat is wonderful. I forgot all about those strathmore workshops.

    1. Thank you, Boo! You better check back in there 😉 You DO need to paint a sun flower, right?!

  5. Oh, I LOVE it- you completely got the essence of a cat!! 🙂

    1. Thanks so much, Chel!
      You comment makes me happy 🙂

  6. I love your cat, colors and his shape. Lovely and magical. Thank you for sharing

    1. Thank YOU, Aga, for stopping by and leaving a comment! It’s much appreciated 🙂

  7. Your kitties are wonderful. I want to hear the last one speak German. 🙂

    1. …that she speaks German was evident when I had to name the file – I feel that they all either ‘meow’ or purr. ‘Meow’ is spelled ‘miau’ in German – so there you go 😉

Leave a Reply

