Gaudy – Digital Collage

Another art journal challenge (check it out, it’s on Daisy Yellow’s page) and another one out of my comfort zone. And again I had fun playing 😉

I had an idea, how to make my page gaudy and this time I decided to try an all digital collage. I love Photoshop and hadn’t played for a while…
I started to look around for graphics (found some on The Graphics Fairy page again – shown below and the others are photographs I found via google ‘crazy hats’)

For the background I wanted to use some of my digital brushes (my secret addiction!!! I LOVE making those – but then again time is so limited to use them as much as I like).

All set – now I just added on and cut to fit all the hats together. (Well, not ‘just’ – it took time and patience to cut digitally ;))

I just love how the cat examines that Hat Lady. First I thought I’ll give him a speech or thought bubble, but then decided it would be more fun to let everyone give him their own thoughts 😉

Here they are – The Cat and The Hat Lady (or ‘Envy and Gaudy’)

Envy and GaudyDigital Collage

Envy and Gaudy
Digital Collage

Envy and GaudyDaisy Yellow

Envy and Gaudy
Daisy Yellow Challenge

And here are all the images I used for it (except background and brushes – I made those myself)

12 comments

  1. Jana, this is just wonderful. It is so lively and has so much depth, great. I also love working with Photoshop. You must tell me more about your digital brushes.
    Have a nice day
    Gabriele

    1. Gabriele, Thank you! I love receiving comments on my blog 🙂
      Well, another thing in common (Photoshop). Anything in particular you like to know about the brushes? Let me know 🙂

  2. Fun, Fun, Fun! A great entry to the contest, Jana. I love making photoshop brushes! Then I forget what I’ve made and I make more.

    1. Thanks, Tammy! 🙂 I wish there would be an easy (inexpensive) way to make those digi brushes into the real thing – stamps and/or stencils. This would be heaven.

  3. Wow! I love this. So much skill in Photoshop. Photoshop scares me. Love the hat! 🙂

    1. Thank you, Natasha! This means a lot – I admire YOUR work 🙂
      BTW – Once you lay a hand on Photoshop, it’s hard to stop playing 😉

  4. I love Fancy cat…I said it on the DY group, but I love him so much, it warrants repeating! I like that you left off the speech bubble so that we’d all imagine our own ideas about him…just perfect (I was so close to typing purr-fect, but I refrained…almost… haha). And the background is amazing! And all the layers of hatting (I don’t know if that’s a word, but I’m going with it…) is so neat…I just really love this collage so much…it makes me want Photoshop BAD…and a new computer that would actually run Photoshop… And then I would need Photoshop skills…so I’m flying to your house so you can teach me! 🙂

    1. Thank you so much – it’s so encouraging to read comments like yours!
      BTW – You’re welcome here any time 😉
      It really would be cool to get together and swap skills… nice cup of tea (or coffee), sweets and fun at work.
      Enjoy your day 🙂

  5. best. hat. ever.

    1. Thank you, Karen! I certainly love the hat too (wouldn’t wear it, though 😉
      Cheers!

  6. I love this! The background is awesome and your cat is so suave! My Photoshop is currently out of action (long story), but I’d love to know more about digi brushes too!

    1. Thanks, Alison!
      It really sounds like I should write something about those brushes 😉
      Cheers!

Leave a Reply

