Rainbow Town

Here another page I did for Daisy Yellow’s Prompts: It’s prompt #4 and I’m glad I played along. It was a challenge for me since I really didn’t have an idea where to start with this one.  I was curious if I ever could finish a page with the following prompts:
curious (taken car of already ;))
bird (hiding in the trees somewhere)
sky blue
rainbow
pocket or window
heart (if you look closely, you’ll find it)

Again I used a piece of scrap paper (still no new water color paper) – well it’s sturdy paper with structure to it, so I thought I’ll try (since I also try to teach recycling recycling recycling… to my children). Acrylic paints, newspaper scraps (from a local newspaper – so I have one more reason to remember our time in Sweden). For the windows on the purple house I used a ‘recycled stamp’ – can you guess what object I used?!??! I had searched my boy’s ‘treasure box’ – always surprising things to use in there ;)  Oh and I used one of my digital stamps over the sky.

Anyway – it was a fun project. My 4 yr old helped me paint the houses and he helped also to glue them on the background. Good helper!

Thanks for reading :)

Rainbow Town (with birds hiding in trees)

Rainbow Town (with birds hiding in trees)

6 comments

  1. Fabulous colours in this piece! What fun! It’s so great to use recycled objects in art.

    1. Thanks, Alison! I like the idea of using things that had a purpose already – makes it very interesting in many aspects.

  2. How fabulous that your 4 yr old helped paint + adhere your images. Working together with art and paint is so much fun, worth the mess, for the shared experience. This is a great interpretation, and I’m happy that you used some of the Swedish newsprint too.

    1. Thanks Tammy!
      Fun indeed – to work with my 4 yr old :) I think it’s contagious to see someone draw, paint or craft – if I’m with paper and pencil – he joins in. Love it!

  3. Jana,
    I love this page. Houses are one of my favorite things. I want to visit your rainbow town!

    1. Thanks Boo!
      You’re always welcome in my town :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

